Newspaper Archive of
Mt. Pulaski , Illinois
July 13, 1961     Times
PAGE 133     (133 of 174 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 133     (133 of 174 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
July 13, 1961

Newspaper Archive of Times produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

-.-SIL-TENNIAL EDITION (Tlmes.Newso Mr. Pulas IlL) DAYo JULY 13, 1961 VOTERS APPROVED GRADE BUILDING IN BOND ISSUE (March S, 19so) Voters of Mt. Pulaski Consoli. dated Grade School District No. 33, placed an emphatic stamp of approval on the remodeling of the grade school building Sat- urday when a "Yes" vote of 374 with 221 voting "No", and a vote of 363 For and 218 Against the issuance of $195,000 in bonds was polled. A total of 595 bal- lots were cast which was a larg- er vote than the previous election two years ago. The plans of the remodeling call for the building of four class rooms, a kindergarten, a bus gar- age and an adequate auditorium. gymnasium to replace the anti- quated one now being used. A large stage will be an important part of the auditorium-gymnas- ium addition. A hot-lunch pro- gram is also a part of the pro- gram and that may be put into practice yet this school year. PARTIAL LIST OF BOARD MEMBERS, FACULTY 1889-1939. School board members and faculty members at various per- iods of the grade school were: lJgPresident, C. F. Schafer,! H. B. Rowe, Secretary; Jacob Baumann, G. W. Bozart, W. B. Mitchell, T. O. Snyder, A. H. Tomlinson. Supt. T. S. Cook; K. S. Brown, Principal; Katie Rentschler, C. W. Wacaser, Julia Robinson Nellie Van Orman, Cleo Hick- man, Inez Mathews, Frances Gut- tery, Lucy Tutwiller, Nettle Rig. don. John Anderson, janitor. 190G---President, C. F. Schafer, George Hubbard, Secretary; Jacob Baumann, T. O. Snyder, W. B. Mitchell, A. H. Tomlinson, J. W. Bozarth. Superintendent, G. B. Coffman, C.W. Wacaser, Clyde Capron, Capron, Katie Rentschler, Clee Hickman, Lura Osbum, Daisy Howard, Lucy TutwHler, Nettie Rigdon, Clara Scott, Julia Robin- son. 1905---P. M. Hoke, Supt; E. Schmitgen, Principal; Mamie Brown, Josephine Clemens, Anna "'Liscn, Lulu Weidenbacher, Jen- nie Hassett, Kathryn Fryer, Grace Winters, Pearl Leonard, Elnora McDonald, Nettle Rigdon. 1910---President, G. Hubbard, J. Copeland, Secretary; Anderson, Rothwell, Snyder, Zah, Laughery. Supt., Frank E. Wolf, Grace Wells, Annetta Rigdon, Lucy Tut- willer, Jennie Hassett, Anna Liesch, Grace Headley, Elnora Mc Donald, Kathryn Fryer, Florence Wynd, Marie Wallin, Augusta Sewell. 1915---President, W. J. McCar- thy; R. D. Clark, Secretary; Clob- es, Lachenmeyer, Obermiller, Sey- fer, Ey. C. L. Cooper, Prin.; Florence Wynd, Jennie Hassett, Katie Voile, Lucy Tutwilller, Anna Liesch, Annetta Rigdon, Louise Swain. 1920---42. T. Anderson, President; W. J. McCarthy, Secretary; Biene- feldt, Lachenmeyer, Felts, Con- nolley, Binder. Frank Sager, Principal. Facul- ty - Bernadine Jones, Levine Vit- COMMODIOUS 1960 - 61 GRADE SCHOOL FACLTY The teaching staff for the term was as follows: Kindergarten: Miss Sue Moore 1A: Mrs. Florence Martin IB: Mrs. Marie M 2A: Mrs. Henna Shively 2B: Mrs. Wilma Cullen 3A: Mrs. Margaret Lanterrnan 3B: Mrs. Mae Schroth 4A: Miss Jessie Turley 4B: Miss Norma Stoll 5A: Mrs. Wilma Long 5B: Mrs. Laura Baker 6A: Mrs. Jean Handlin 6B: Mrs. Mildred Merry 7th: Reno Torricelli 8A: Miss Mildred Kurtz 8B: Glen Rice Principal: Joe Kafka Vocal Music: Dan McNabb Instrumental Music: Claus Tanner. Coach: John West Office Sec'y: Mrs. Doris Berg Bus Drivers: Robert Keck and Harry Milner Cooks: Mrs. Vivian Ingrain and Mrs. Helen Holmes Janitors: John Curtis (retired in February, '60); Ted Aderman, and Gus Luebke. tes, Jennie Hassett, Ruth Ober- miller, Pearl Goodpaster, Flor- ence Pinney, Annetta Rigdon, Flavia Scroggin. William Klot2 ianitor. I,5---G. A. Drum, President; Harry Sisk, Secretary; Connelly, Felts, Merriman, Van Hook. 1929---President, Potter; Down. ing, Merriman, Zimmerrnarm, Van Hook, Connelly, Anderson. Zenobia Zimmermann, Prin. 1934--Pres., Van Hook; C. M. Merriman, Sec; Downing, Drob. isch, Zimmermann, Connelly, Schaffenacker. Prin., Zenobia Zimmermann, Helen McClintock, Florence Pin- hey, Mabel Crawford, Elizabeth Mayer, Dorothy Downing, Charles Anderson, Lola Hahn, Florence Butler. John Curtis, jaintor. 1939---Pres., O. E. Martin; Secre. tary, C. M. Merriman; Meister, Anderson, Connelly, Zimmermann and Drobisch. Zenobia Zimmermann, Prin; Lola Hahn, Herbert Holz, Eliz- abeth Mayer, Grace Gehlbach, FINE MANY VICTORIES MEMORIALIZED i IN THIS TROPHY Mount Pulaski grade school ha., had some fine basketball teams over the years as can be attest- ed to by the many trophies that are on display in the specially made trophy case, designed and built by Emerson Horn. The record of these trophies school teams won the Logan County championship. There are 70 victories represented in the trophy case. Coaches who stand out in our memory were Joe Schroth and Roman Romer, be- fore state requirements made it necessary that they have a teach- ing certificate. Then there were Russell Miller and Leonard Juhl, and the present coach John West. Trophy Awards 1932--Logan County Champions 1932---Second in Moweaqua Tourney 1935---Second in Basketball 1935--First in Free Throw Contest 1938---Third in I.S.G.S.A.A. 193g--Lightweight Consolation 1938---Second in Heaxcweight 1938---Second in Lightweight in I.S.G.S.A.A. Effie Wiggers, Barbara Barnes Ruth Peterson, Florence Pinney Paul Merry. WELL-LIGHTED 1938--Second in Heav),eight in I.S.G.S.A.A. 1939---Second in Lightweight 1939---Third in I.S.G.S.A.A. 1939---First in State Heavyweight 1942---First in Lightweight Sec- tional 1942--Champions of Logan Coun- ty Lightweight Tourney 1942---Second in State Light- weight 1947First in Logan County Lightweight 1948---First in Logan County Lightweight 1948--First in Sectional Light. weight 1948-49--First in Conference Heav,eight 1949--First in Logan County Heav,eight 1949---Second in Logan County Lightweight 1949---Second in State Heavy- weight 1949---First in Sectional Heavy- weights 1950---Fourth in I.E.S,A. Light- weight 1950---First in Logan County Hea:cweight 1950--First in Sectional Light- weight STAGE 59. FEET WIDE SCENE OF MANY \\; 1950-51--First in Lightweight 1950-51First in Lightweight 1951Third in weight 1952---Logan County Tournament 1952---First in Logan Heavyweight 19$2--Third in weight 1952-53---Second in gan County 1955.--Second in Lightweight 1955---Second in weight 1955---Third in Heavyweig 195S---First in ference 1955-56--Logan ence Champions 1956--Second in weight 1956---Second in tional 1956---First in 1946-57--Heav, 1957Fourth in weight 1957---Champions County 1957--First in ference Log   1957-58---Second in Lightweight 1958--First in 1958--First in Li 1958---First in weight 1958---Third in S ectil weight. 1958---Second in 1958--First in 1958--Co-cham weight 1960.61--.Consolat weight Trophies with no Normal District THANKS, We are indebted cheerleaders who data for us: Lynne Romer, Linda Fuhrer, AND VARIED SCHOOL ACTMTIES | | \\; | | |